Last updated: October 7, 2026 · Checked against official retailer websites · How we verify
Among the 327 stores we track, the longest return windows belong to Costco and Nordstrom, which set no fixed time limit on most items, followed by BJ’s Wholesale Club, Chewy, IKEA, Brooklinen and Quince at 365 days (IKEA’s year applies to unopened products). REI members get one year, and Target Owned Brands can go back for up to a year with a receipt. At the other end, Apple allows 14 days and Best Buy and Samsung 15 days. Most fashion and beauty retailers sit at 30 days, and many big-box stores at 90. All details below are as of September 2026 and were checked against each retailer’s official website.
Key facts
- No fixed time limit on most items: Costco (90 days for TVs, computers and major appliances) and Nordstrom (handled case by case).
- 365 days: BJ’s (most items), Chewy (most items), IKEA (new, unopened products); REI members get 1 year.
- 90 days is standard at Target, Walmart, Kohl’s, The Home Depot, Lowe’s, Dick’s Sporting Goods, DSW, Carter’s and LEGO.
- Electronics windows are short: Apple 14 days, Best Buy 15 days (60 for Plus and Total members), Samsung 15 days.
- Store cards add time: Kohl’s Card 120 days, Target Circle Card an extra 30 days, and select Lowe’s cards 365 days.
- Mail return fees of $5 to $9.99 apply at stores such as American Eagle, H&M, J.Crew, Levi’s (guests) and Macy’s (non-members); American Eagle, H&M, Levi’s and Macy’s take in-store returns free.
Longest return windows
These are the most generous policies in our data, ranked roughly by length. Each one has conditions, so read the notes before counting on the full window.
- Costco: no set time limit on most items. Its 100% satisfaction guarantee covers most merchandise at any time. TVs, computers, tablets, cameras, large refrigerators, washers, dryers and similar products must come back within 90 days of receipt. Gift cards, custom orders and event or airline tickets are not returnable.
- Nordstrom: no set time limit on most items. Returns are handled case by case, and Nordstrom says it occasionally can’t accept one. Mail returns use a free prepaid label. Gift cards can’t be returned, and some partner items have shorter windows.
- BJ’s Wholesale Club: 365 days. Groceries and electronics such as TVs, laptops and tablets have 90 days, items such as AC units, patio sets and mattresses have 30 days, and damaged electronics have 14 days.
- Chewy: 365 days. Covers most items, and return shipping is free on eligible items. Prescription medications are excluded.
- IKEA: 365 days unopened, 180 days opened. Bring proof of purchase and a photo ID. Planning Studios and Pick-up Points don’t take returns.
- REI: 1 year for members, 90 days for everyone else. Outdoor electronics such as GPS devices and watches have 90 days for everyone, and REI Outlet purchases have 30 days.
- Target: up to 1 year for Target Owned Brands with a receipt. Most other unopened items have 90 days.
- Lowe’s: 365 days for trees, shrubs and perennials, and for purchases made with select Lowe’s credit cards. The standard window is 90 days.
- 90 days: Walmart, Kohl’s, The Home Depot, Dick’s Sporting Goods, DSW, Carter’s (refund with receipt or packing slip) and LEGO (free for unopened items).
Some guarantees run longer than the return window for defects only. Old Navy‘s Kid’s Guarantee refunds kids’ clothing and shoes with manufacturing defects for up to a year, Gap accepts damaged or defective items at any time, and Walgreens brand products carry a 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Return policy comparison table
Windows count from purchase unless noted. “Not published” means we could not confirm the detail on the retailer’s official pages, so check at checkout or when you start the return.
| Store | Standard return window | Free returns? / fee | Notable exceptions |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1-800-PetMeds | 90 days for non-prescription items | Full refund; return fee not stated | Prescriptions get prorated refunds up to 30 days after shipping |
| Academy Sports + Outdoors | 60 days | Free in store | Firearms, ammunition, gift cards and other listed categories |
| Ace Hardware | 30 days with original receipt | Mail returns: customer pays return shipping unless item was wrong, damaged or defective | Gift cards, clearance, grills and smokers, hazardous materials, tinted paint, fueled power equipment |
| Adidas | 30 days | Free for adiClub members; online orders by mail only | Personalized, Final Sale, items bought with points |
| Allbirds | 30 days from delivery | You pay return shipping unless you added return coverage at checkout | Must be unworn, unwashed, with tags |
| Amazon | 30 days from delivery (sold by Amazon) | Many free drop-off points; bulky items may cost | Third-party sellers set terms; used or incomplete items may get partial refunds |
| American Eagle | 30 days refund, 60 days credit (+7 days online) | Free in store; $5 by mail | Final Sale |
| American Girl | 90 days | $6.95 deducted if you use the prepaid label; own carrier at your cost | Create Your Own items, pierced-ear dolls, final-sale and Last Chance Outlet items; Janie and Jack items 30 days |
| Apple | 14 days from receipt | Prepaid label or any US Apple Store | Opened software, Apple Gift Cards |
| Ashley Furniture | 30 days from delivery for standard-shipped items | Return shipping or pickup fees may apply; shipping not refunded unless damaged | Final-sale, clearance, special orders, personalized items, mattresses; doorstep/white glove only if damaged or defective |
| ASOS | 28 days from delivery | Free for account holders; $4.95 for guest orders | Fair use policy may add $4.95 per parcel for high return rates |
| Beats by Dre | 14 days | Not stated | Returns handled by Apple |
| Beyond Yoga | 30 days | Free for domestic orders; not free from APO bases or international | Final sale items; worn, washed, altered or tag-removed items |
| B&H Photo | 30 days from delivery | Shipping fees not refunded | Opened TVs and monitors 37″+, computers, software; restocking fee of at least 15% if conditions aren’t met |
| Backcountry | 90 days from delivery; 365 days for Summit Club+ | $8.99 flat-rate FedEx return label, waived for store credit | Final sale, as-is and made-to-order items; unused with tags and original packaging |
| Barnes & Noble | 30 days with receipt or order documentation | Mail returns: you pay postage; original shipping not refunded | Opened shrink-wrapped items, magazines, newspapers, used books, digital content, gift cards, memberships |
| Bass Pro Shops | 60 days | Mail or store, including Cabela’s | Firearms, ammunition, treestands, Bargain Cave |
| Bed Bath & Beyond | 30 days from delivery | Label cost usually deducted | Final sale, personalized, opened mattresses, assembled furniture |
| Best Buy | 15 days | Store or prepaid label | Activatable devices 14 days; $45 or 15% restocking fees on some opened items |
| Birkenstock | 30 days | Free return shipping | Items discounted 40% or more are final sale; online orders cannot be returned to stores |
| BJ’s Wholesale Club | 365 days | Mostly handled in club | Groceries and electronics 90 days; mattresses, patio sets 30 days |
| Bloomingdale’s | 30 days from receipt with proof of purchase | Refund to original payment; mail fee not stated | Final sale, The Final Offer, altered or custom goods, food; pre-owned items 14 days |
| Bombas | Refund within 30 days of purchase (60 days for Nov-Dec purchases) | Check the returns portal | After the refund window: exchange, replacement or store credit under the Happiness Guarantee |
| Bose | 30 days from receipt | Free; Bose covers return shipping | Trade-in purchases, personalized items, final sale products and gift cards |
| Brooklinen | 365 days, any condition | $9.95 fee deducted from refunds | — |
| Brooks Running | 90 days | Free; no shipping or restocking fee | Worn gear accepted; defective items via product support form |
| Build-A-Bear Workshop | 90 days with original receipt | Shipping fees non-refundable | Without a receipt, exchange or merchandise credit at company discretion |
| Cabela’s | 60 days with proof of purchase | By mail or in any Cabela’s or Bass Pro Shops store; mail fee not stated | Firearms, ammunition, treestands, certain safety equipment, used fuel-powered items, custom orders; no receipt gets merchandise credit |
| CAKES Body | 21 days | $4.99 handling fee per item; original shipping not refunded | Final Sale and Not Eligible for Return items, incl. some exclusive bundles; must be unworn and in original packaging |
| Callaway Golf | 30 days (performance guarantee) | Not stated | Not stated; check policy for custom or personalized items |
| Canon | 14 days to request an RMA; ship within 14 days of RMA | Customer pays return shipping on non-defective items | Items marked nonreturnable; WG Series inkjet business printers final sale; bundle items returned together |
| Carter’s | 90 days for a refund | Free in store; $6 mail label | After 90 days, merchandise credit |
| Casper | 100-night mattress trial after a 30-night adjustment period | Free mattress pickup, full refund | — |
| Chewy | 365 days | Free on eligible items | Prescription medications |
| Chicco | 30 days | Customer pays return shipping; no restocking fee | Must be new, unused, in original packaging; assembled products unless defective; Return Authorization required; gift returns as store credit |
| Clarks | 45 days | Free in store; $5 deducted for mail returns (waived for exchanges and faulty items) | Final sale items; must be unworn and unused in original packaging |
| Clinique | 30 days from delivery | Shipping fees not refunded | Engraved, final sale; free gifts must come back |
| Cole Haan | 30 days | $4.95 deducted for prepaid label; free in stores and on size or width exchanges | Final Sale; must be unworn and in original packaging; Klarna and PayPal orders cannot be returned in store |
| Coleman | 60 days from order date | Customer pays return shipping unless Coleman error or defective; original shipping not refunded | Final sale, used or opened items, items from other retailers, replacement parts |
| Columbia Sportswear | 60 days | UPS drop-off or store; check fee when starting | No direct exchanges |
| Converse | 30 days | Free | Customized and final-sale items may be excluded |
| Costco | No set limit on most items | Warehouse or costco.com | TVs, computers, major appliances 90 days |
| Crate & Barrel | 30 days from receipt | You pay return shipping | Final sale, personalized, made-to-order furniture |
| CVS Pharmacy | 60 days (new, unopened) | Any CVS store | Prescriptions, gift cards, some health items |
| Dell | 30 days from invoice date | Free label for personal-use buyers | Other approved returns may carry 15% restocking |
| Dermstore | 60 days from receipt | Not stated as free | Opened or used products; no exchanges |
| Dick’s Sporting Goods | 90 days | Mail may cost; free to a store | Opened electronics 30 days; used bats |
| Dillard’s | 30 calendar days for eligible dillards.com purchases | Free in store (excluding clearance centers); mail at your cost | Not every item eligible; check final-sale and special items |
| DJI | 30 days from the day after delivery (terms page lists 14 days) | Customer pays return shipping unless due to a performance fault | Must be unactivated and unused with all packaging; gift cards, virtual goods and services |
| DSW | 90 days | Free in store; mail fee unless Elite | Final sale, worn shoes |
| eBay | Set by seller (often 30 or 60 days) | Seller pays if not as described | Money Back Guarantee claims within 30 days |
| Everlane | 30 days from ship date | Happy Returns drop-off; check the fee in the returns portal | Some sale items are final sale |
| Foot Locker | 45 days from ship date | Free for FLX; $6.99 otherwise | Original shipping not refunded |
| Gap | 30 days | Free by mail or in store | Final sale, marketplace items |
| Glossier | Request within 30 days of receiving your order | Check the returns portal | — |
| GoPro | 30 days | Customer pays return shipping; shipping fees not refunded | Damage not covered by warranty; gopro.com orders only |
| Graco | 30 days | Free through the Return Portal | gracobaby.com and telesales orders only; other retailers’ purchases go back to those retailers |
| H&M | 30 days | Free in store; $5.99 by mail | No returns after 30 days |
| Hobby Lobby | 90 days in sellable condition | Refund to original payment with receipt; shipping refunded only if Hobby Lobby’s error; online orders returned by mail | Opened or used merchandise not accepted |
| HOKA | 30 days (Fly for 30) | Free | May deny if guarantee is abused |
| HP | 30 days from delivery | No restocking fee for personal-use buyers | Most software, gift cards |
| IKEA | 365 days unopened, 180 opened | Store or FedEx for small items | Proof of purchase and photo ID needed |
| J.Crew | 30 days | $7.50 label; exchanges free | Final sale, monogrammed, lingerie |
| JBL | 30 calendar days from delivery | Free | Personalized products and bulk orders follow different terms |
| JCPenney | 60 days | Free in store; $8 deducted for mail returns | Gift cards, monogrammed or altered items, body jewelry, perishable food, services; marketplace items 30 days |
| Kohl’s | 90 days | Not published | Premium electronics, watches, mattresses 30 days |
| LEGO | 90 days from receipt | Free for unopened items | Opened items usually credit or exchange |
| Lenovo | About 30 days | Prepaid label | Digital goods, activated software, final sale |
| Levi’s | 30 days | Free for Red Tab and in store; $7.50 guest mail | Final Sale |
| L.L.Bean | 1 year | Not stated; free return shipping for Mastercard orders | Misuse, excessive wear, fire or flood damage; soiled items; missing labels; third-party seller products; proof of purchase required |
| Logitech | 30 days | Not published | Holiday extension (see below) |
| Lowe’s | 90 days | Store or FedEx label | Major appliances 48 hours; TVs, electronics, paint 30 days |
| lululemon | 30 days | Free | We Made Too Much is final sale |
| MAC Cosmetics | 30 days from delivery | Free in store; $7 by mail | Engraved, final sale |
| Macy’s | 30 days | Free in store; $9.99 mail unless Star Rewards | Last Act, personalized, gift cards |
| Melissa & Doug | 90 days | No restocking fee; refund excludes shipping and handling | Items must be new, unused and in original packaging; RMA number required by phone |
| Michaels | 60 days | Not published | Clearance, cut fabric; Glowforge 14 days |
| Microsoft Store | 60 days | Free | Digital content, subscriptions |
| NAPA Auto Parts | 30 days from receipt for NAPAonline purchases | Free UPS return with RGA number, or return at a participating store | Clearance and final-sale items; batteries must go to a store |
| New Balance | 45 days from shipment | Free for members and in store; $5 otherwise | Final sale |
| Newegg | Varies by product | Free label up to 50 lbs | Digital products, software, some open-box |
| Nike | 60 days | Free for Nike Members | Nike Clearance store purchases |
| Nikon | 14 days | Prepaid UPS label for items under $1,000 | Books, software, e-courses, apparel, logo items, repair parts and Nikon Care plans; must be unused and unopened |
| NordicTrack | 30 days from delivery | $250 return shipping fee and 10% processing fee, nonrefundable | Extra 10% charge if missing paperwork, parts or accessories |
| Nordstrom | No set limit on most items | Free label or store | Gift cards; some items need tags |
| Nordstrom Rack | 40 days from order or purchase date | Free in any Nordstrom or Rack store; $9.95 deducted per prepaid mail label | Beauty unopened and in store only; car seats unopened; fine jewelry not returnable to Rack |
| Olay | 30 days from carrier ship date | Free return shipping if defective, damaged or incorrect; otherwise you pay | Items must be unopened and in original packaging |
| Old Navy | 30 days | Free | Final sale, Encore Market |
| Oral-B | 60 days money-back guarantee on power products (some pages say 30 days) | Refund issued as a prepaid debit card | Replacement parts and consumables; one refund per household; proof of purchase required |
| Parachute | 60 days on most items | $8 fee by mail or at a Happy Returns Bar; free in store | — |
| Peloton | 30 days (equipment home trial for first-time buyers; apparel 30 days) | $150 Bikes / $250 Treads and Row+ deducted; $9 apparel mail-in fee | Refurbished equipment; final sale apparel; assembly fees not refunded; trial excludes AK, HI, PR |
| Petco | 60 days (refund within 30) | Mail fee deducted | Pharmacy items, saltwater aquatic life |
| PetSmart | 60 days with receipt | Mail fee deducted | Prescription medications |
| PlayStation | 30 days from ship date | Free; prepaid FedEx label | Digital content, opened disc games, custom orders, subscriptions, final sale, clearance and as-is items |
| PUMA | 30 days from delivery | Free prepaid label | Select launches 15 days; bodywear |
| Purple | 100-night mattress trial (21-night minimum); 30 days for pillows, cushions and bedding | Check at checkout | — |
| Quince | 365 days from delivery on most items | Free | Some categories have shorter windows |
| QVC | 30 days from receipt | Original shipping and handling and Q Return Label fee deducted unless defective or QVC’s error | After 30 days, handled with the manufacturer |
| Radio Flyer | 45 days; 30 days for Flyer eBikes and eScooters | Customer pays return shipping; free label for eBikes and eScooters | Personalized items, replacement parts and some specific models; must be new, unassembled, in original packaging |
| Ralph Lauren | 30 days from order ship date | Free for RL Account holders | Customized items and some categories have different rules |
| Reformation | 30 days | Free when dropped off and scanned by carrier or returned in store | Items altered through hemming service; final sale items may differ |
| REI | 90 days (1 year members) | Free only for REI errors | Outlet 30 days; Re/Supply final sale |
| Rhode | 30 days | Not stated; original shipping not refunded | Not stated; contact Rhode to start a return |
| Rogue Fitness | 30 days | Customer pays return shipping; $10 fee on shoes returned without box or with labels | Boneyard, closeout, custom Zeus, made-to-order, Rx Jump Ropes, face coverings and gift cards |
| Roller Rabbit | 15 days | $5.00 restocking fee (domestic); shipping not refunded | Made-to-order, final sale and subscription products |
| Rothy’s | 30 days from delivery | Free exchanges; $7.99 fee on mail-in refunds | Must be unworn, unwashed, with tags |
| Saatva | 365-night mattress trial; 180 nights for toppers; 45 nights for bedding | $99 processing fee on mattress returns | — |
| Saks Fifth Avenue | 30 days from delivery | By mail or in store; mail fee not stated | Final sale and non-returnable items |
| Sam’s Club | No general limit stated for members | Shipping refunded only for Sam’s errors | Electronics, appliances, phones have own rules |
| Samsonite | 90 days from ship date for unused items | Prepaid label fee deducted: $14.99 travel items, $9.99 non-travel | No exchanges; online purchases cannot be returned to stores; tags and packaging required |
| Samsung | 15 days from delivery | Free label | Restocking fees of 5% to 15% on many categories |
| Sephora | 30 days | Not published | No returns after 30 days |
| Sherwin-Williams | 30 days | Customer pays return cost on delivery orders | Tinted products, custom and special orders; must be unopened with proof of purchase |
| Skechers | 45 days | Free for Plus; guests may pay | Items must be unworn |
| Sonos | 30 days | Free; Sonos covers return shipping | Not stated |
| Specialized | 60 days new and unused; 30 days used but undamaged | Free (prepaid FedEx label) | Crash damage; bikes with permanent modifications; washed items not counted as new; original shipping not refunded |
| Sperry | 60 days | Free in store; $6.95 per order by mail or Happy Returns | Final sale items, socks, shoelaces and shoe care products |
| Steve Madden | 30 days from delivery for unworn items | $6.95 return fee per order; original shipping not refunded | Clearance items and earrings |
| Target | 90 days | Not published | Target Plus items 30 days |
| TaylorMade | 30 days | Free for rewards members; otherwise return shipping not reimbursed | Custom-built clubs, MyTaylorMade+, final sale, online exclusives, personalized balls and accessories |
| The Children’s Place | 45 days | Free in store; $7 deducted for prepaid mail label (waived for merchandise credit under $260) | Items must be unwashed, unworn, with tags; final-sale and marketplace items |
| The Home Depot | 90 days | Online orders to a store | Major appliances 48 hours; furniture, electronics 30 days |
| The North Face | 30 days | Check cost at return | No online exchanges |
| Timberland | 30 days of shipment | Free | Final sale, prices ending in $0.98, gift cards; worn, washed, altered or damaged items |
| Tommy Hilfiger | 45 days for Hilfiger Club members; standard window not stated | Not stated | Discounts shown on the receipt are deducted from the refund |
| Torrid | 60 days | Free in store; free for Loyalist and VIP Rewards members | Final-sale and clearance terms vary |
| Trek Bikes | 30 days (30-Day Unconditional Guarantee) | Free for most items | Like-new condition with proof of purchase; Fetch+ 2, Fetch+ 4, Allant+, Loft and Ponto Go! lack free return shipping; store purchases follow retailer policy |
| True Religion | 30 days | Not stated; original shipping not refunded | Swimwear, intimate apparel and final sale items |
| Truly Beauty | 60 days | Not stated | Not stated; 60-day money-back guarantee |
| Udemy | 30 days | Not stated; refund to original payment or Udemy credits | Subscriptions and Udemy Business purchases; may be denied if much of the course was consumed or downloaded |
| Ulta Beauty | 30 days refund, 60 days credit | Not published | Receipt and ID required |
| Under Armour | Widely reported as 60 days | Free | Final Sale, custom gear |
| Uniqlo | 30 days from ship date | Prepaid label; $7 on exchanges | Underwear, bras, altered items |
| Walgreens | 30 days | Any Walgreens store | Gift cards, phones, swimwear, seasonal |
| Walmart | 90 days | Store or mail | Electronics 30 days; wireless phones 14 |
| Warby Parker | 30 days | Free | — |
| Wayfair | 30 days from delivery | Shipping usually deducted | Open Box, clearance, custom items |
| WeatherTech | 30 days | Customer pays return shipping; refund minus shipping and packaging | Car covers; single TechFloor tiles; TechFloor tiles carry a 15% restocking fee; C.O.D. returns not accepted |
| WHOOP | 30 days from receipt | Shipping costs deducted from refund | Not stated |
| World Market | 30 days | Not stated | Exceptions apply; full list not confirmed |
| YETI | 30 days | Free UPS return label | Customized products generally cannot be returned; items must be unused and in original packaging |
| Zappos | 60 days in new condition | Free | Final Sale items; restocking fee up to 50% if policy not met |
| Zara | 30 days | Free in store; $4.95 deducted for mail or drop-point returns | Magazines, personalized items, men’s underwear and certain cosmetics; swimwear needs hygiene strip |
Stores that don’t publish a clear window
We could not confirm a standard return window for these stores, so check their returns page before you buy:
- Abercrombie & Fitch and Hollister: online returns and exchanges accepted; check the Online Returns page.
- Banana Republic: final sale items can’t be returned; member windows are listed below.
- Crocs and Estée Lauder: advertise free returns.
- Kiehl’s: mail returns carry an $8 processing fee; final sale and engraved items are excluded.
- Vans: returns accepted online and in store, except final-sale Last Chance styles.
- Pottery Barn and West Elm: you may pay return shipping depending on the reason; furniture and made-to-order rules differ.
- Office Depot OfficeMax and Staples: windows differ by category, such as technology and furniture.
- Bath & Body Works, e.l.f. Cosmetics and Victoria’s Secret: policy is on their help pages; terms not confirmed.
- BarkBox: no returns or exchanges; its Happy Team works with you instead.
Offers with free returns
See all →Free Returns Within 30 Days With Pickup Available
See details
Return eligible Farfetch orders within 30 days of receiving them for free, with a pickup service available.
Free Shipping and Free Returns on Serta.com Orders
See details
All products ordered directly from Serta.com ship free with threshold delivery to the lower 48 states, and eligible returns are free.
Free Returns and Exchanges Within 30 Days
See details
Return or exchange eligible unworn items with tags within 30 days using a free prepaid label. Hawaii and Alaska returns carry a fee.
Free Returns and Exchanges on Items $80 and Up
See details
Items valued at $80 or more get free return shipping within the contiguous US. Requests must be made within 30 days and items must be unworn in original packaging.
Free Returns and Exchanges on merrell.com Orders
See details
Merrell advertises free returns and exchanges on U.S. orders. Check the returns page for the return window and condition rules.
Free Returns on All U.S. Online Orders
See details
Online orders shipping to the U.S. include a prepaid return label. Items received within 30 days of delivery are refunded to the original payment method.
Free Exchanges and Free Returns for Rewards Members
See details
Per the returns policy, the $7 return fee is waived for exchanges, store credit and rewards members. Returns must be started within 30 days.
Join SKIMS Rewards for Early Access and Free Returns
See details
Free membership through the SKIMS app includes early access to drops and sales, app-exclusive promotions and waived return fees for US members.
Member and cardholder return perks
Loyalty programs and store cards often add time or remove mail fees. Here is what the data shows:
Longer windows
- Kohl’s: 120 days instead of 90 when you pay with a Kohl’s Card.
- Target: Target Circle Card holders get an extra 30 days on the standard window.
- Lowe’s: 365 days on purchases made with select Lowe’s credit cards.
- The Home Depot: Citi says Home Depot Consumer Credit Card holders get one year on eligible items.
- Best Buy: 60 days for My Best Buy Plus and Total members, versus 15 days (Marketplace products excluded).
- REI: 1 year for members, versus 90 days.
- Gap, Old Navy and Banana Republic: 45 days for Encore Premier and 60 days for All-Access members. At Old Navy, returns after day 30 are refunded as a Merchandise Return Card.
- Skechers: 90 days plus free returns for Skechers Plus members.
- HOKA: 60 days for members. Abercrombie & Fitch VIP members also get an extended window.
Free return shipping for members
- Adidas (adiClub), Nike (Nike Members), Foot Locker (FLX), Levi’s (Red Tab) and New Balance members.
- Macy’s Star Rewards members skip the $9.99 mail fee, and DSW Elite members get free return shipping.
- American Eagle waives its $5 mail fee for Real Rewards Level 3 members and credit cardholders.
- H&M Plus status may include free returns, and Estée Lauder lists free returns as an E-List benefit.
Holiday return windows
Only some stores in our data mention holiday extensions. Where exact dates are published, they are listed as of September 2026. Confirm them on your receipt each season, and plan gift buying around them alongside our Black Friday guide.
- Walmart: purchases from October 1 to December 31 can be returned through January 31 of the next year.
- Gap: items bought October 15 through December 24 can be returned through January 15.
- Logitech: purchases from November 15 to December 23 can be returned until January 31.
- Amazon and Bed Bath & Beyond: typically extend windows for November and December purchases.
- American Eagle: usually extends the window for purchases from late October onward.
- Best Buy and Macy’s: usually extend holiday windows; check the dates each season or on your receipt.
- Michaels: online-only costumes and accessory kits must be returned 7 days before the holiday.
Travel and delivery cancellations
Travel sites and delivery apps don’t take returns. Your protection comes from cancellation rules and refund requests.
| Store | How cancellation works | Refund basics |
|---|---|---|
| Expedia | Most hotels offer free cancellation; each property sets the deadline | Nonrefundable rates aren’t refunded; flights follow airline rules |
| Booking.com | Free, partially refundable or non-refundable, set by the property | Deadlines use the property’s local time |
| Hotels.com | Refundable rates cancel free until the itinerary deadline | Refunds can take several business days, occasionally about 30 |
| Priceline | Standard hotel rates follow the property’s policy | Express Deals are prepaid and non-refundable |
| Vrbo | Each host sets the policy | VrboCare helps rebook or refund if a significant issue isn’t resolved |
| Marriott | Depends on the rate; deadline shown in the rate details before you confirm | Member rates have flexible cancellation; prepaid or advance purchase rates may be non-refundable |
| Alaska Airlines | Change and cancellation rules depend on fare type; Saver fares carry the most restrictions | Not stated; fee-free changes or cancellations for military orders |
| Hilton | Flexible rates: free cancellation until the hotel deadline; Stay Longer & Save has a seven-day cancellation policy | Prepaid rates such as Advance Purchase are non-refundable; limited exceptions in US, Canada, Mexico, Caribbean with a fee if you call 3+ days before arrival |
| Hyatt | Varies by hotel and rate; policy shown on the booking screen applies | Flexible rates per hotel policy; Advance Purchase rates require full non-refundable prepayment |
| IHG Hotels & Resorts | Set by each rate and hotel; check rate details before confirming | Flexible rates usually free until the stated deadline; advance purchase and many promo rates prepaid and non-refundable |
| American Airlines | Free 24-hour hold on select flights booked at least 7 days ahead; check fare rules, Basic Economy has more restrictions | Approved refunds go to the original form of payment; sometimes Trip Credits are issued instead |
| Delta Air Lines | Free cancellation within 24 hours of booking on delta.com or Fly Delta app; Main Classic and above have no change or cancellation fees on US travel; Basic fares cannot be changed | Full refund to original payment within 24 hours; after that Basic is non-refundable and other non-refundable tickets get an eCredit, usually valid one year |
| Southwest Airlines | $0 cancellation fee and $0 change fee; you pay any fare difference on changes | Refund or travel credit depends on the fare purchased; see fare rules |
| United Airlines | Travel credits are issued under United’s fare rules, which depend on fare type; Basic Economy is most restrictive | Not published; see fare rules at booking |
| DoorDash | Full refund only before the merchant confirms and a Dasher is assigned | Quality Guarantee grocery issues within 24 hours |
| Uber Eats | Cancel early in the app to avoid a charge | Report missing or wrong items for a possible refund or Uber Cash |
| Instacart | Cancel as early as possible; options narrow once shopping starts | Report a problem for a refund or credit |
| HelloFresh | Skip or cancel by 11:59 pm PT, five days before delivery | Contact care for damaged or missing items |
How to return without losing money
- Return in store when you can. Mail fees come out of your refund at several stores: $5 at American Eagle, $5.99 at H&M, $6 at Carter’s, $7 at MAC, $7.50 at J.Crew and Levi’s (guests), and $9.99 at Macy’s for non-members. Petco, PetSmart and Dick’s also deduct or charge mail costs, while store returns avoid them. Amazon offers free drop-off at locations such as Whole Foods Market, Kohl’s, UPS and Staples.
- Beat the refund cutoff, not just the final day. Ulta and Petco refund your payment method within 30 days but give merchandise credit from day 31 to 60. American Eagle switches to credit after 30 days and Carter’s after 90.
- Check restocking fees on electronics. Best Buy charges $45 on opened activatable devices and 15% on some opened items, Samsung 5% to 15% by category, and B&H at least 15% on returns that don’t meet its conditions. HP charges consumers buying for personal use no restocking fee, and Newegg charges none on items it sells and ships.
- Know when the clock starts. Dell counts from the invoice date, Uniqlo from the shipped date and Foot Locker from the ship date, not the delivery date.
- Keep receipts and order emails. Without one, refunds often drop to the lowest recent price: Macy’s uses the last 180 days, Michaels the previous 90 days and Kohl’s the past 13 weeks. Petco and Ulta require a government-issued ID for every return.
- Send back free gifts and keep packaging. Clinique, MAC and B&H require promotional items to come back, and B&H deducts their value if they don’t.
- Avoid final sale on uncertain sizes. Clearance and final-sale items are excluded at most stores, including Nike Clearance stores, lululemon’s We Made Too Much and Vans Last Chance styles.
- Use the window for price drops. H&M, Sephora and Converse don’t offer price adjustments, but you can return and rebuy at the lower price. See our price match guide for stores that refund the difference, our free shipping guide to cut reorder costs, and more tactics in our savings guides.
FAQs
Store Return Policy FAQs
Which store has the longest return policy?
Costco and Nordstrom set no fixed time limit on most items. BJ's Wholesale Club and Chewy allow 365 days on most items, IKEA allows 365 days for unopened products, and REI members get one year.
What is Costco's return policy?
Costco's 100% satisfaction guarantee lets you return most items at any time. TVs, computers, major appliances and similar electronics must be returned within 90 days of receipt.
Which stores have a 90-day return policy?
As of September 2026, Target, Walmart, Kohl's, The Home Depot, Lowe's, Dick's Sporting Goods, DSW, Carter's and LEGO offer 90 days on most items, with shorter windows for categories such as electronics.
Do store credit cards extend return windows?
Some do. Kohl's gives 120 days when you pay with a Kohl's Card, Target Circle Card holders get an extra 30 days, and select Lowe's credit cards get 365 days.
Which stores extend returns for the holidays?
Walmart purchases from October 1 to December 31 can be returned through January 31, and Gap items bought October 15 to December 24 through January 15. Amazon, Best Buy and Macy's usually extend holiday windows too, so check the dates each season.
Is it cheaper to return items in store or by mail?
In store is usually cheaper. Stores such as American Eagle, H&M, Macy's and Levi's charge mail return fees of $5 to $9.99 for some shoppers but accept in-store returns free.
Which stores charge restocking fees?
Best Buy charges $45 on opened activatable devices and 15% on some opened electronics, Samsung charges 5% to 15% by category, and B&H may charge at least 15% on returns that don't meet its conditions.
Can I return something without a receipt?
Often yes, but you may get store credit at a lower price. Macy's uses the lowest price in the last 180 days, Kohl's the lowest sale price from the past 13 weeks, and Petco and Ulta require a government-issued ID for all returns.
